Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#41754 05/18/04 07:31 PM
OP Offline

Dear all,

I have been using PR to activate my maths course for 3 months. According to Alex and KW's teaching, I think the core skills to make the system to succeed is to have clear purpose, to ask mind probing qu and to have multiple passes of activation.

I think it is ok for applied maths,while i try to get formula gelled and to know how to apply them. It's easier to be dealt by sr and dip. However, for the mathematical proofs, I'm still struggling.

Here is my approach: I read through the whole proof once by rapid reading, I usually i find the proof abstract and it seems like I'm reading another language which i don't know. Then I ask myself qu like, what's the main idea of the proof or technique used in the proof. Then I read through it quickly for several times. However, I still don't get anything. Eventually, I have to read through each sentence of the proof very slowly in order to digest it. However, it just means that I am just doing regular reading which is meaningless to me, as a PRer.

I know KW can the get whole lecture series gelled in 3 hrs and can achieve about 80% comprehension. What a wonderful man!!! But I wonder if you refer to courses with only little mathematical proofs like some econ theories courses. For my complex analysis course, it has more than 80 proofs in the lecture notes. I'm strugglin to digest it one by one while it usually takes me no less than 30 min on each proof. It's too time consuming. And the main problem is I fall back to the habit of regular reading, which is sth I don't reluctant to do. However, using sr and dip, the proof doesn't make sense to me even i read through it quickly for 6-8 times.

I think I have done the steps correctly, but what's the main problem that I'm really facing? Is it because I didn't ask qu intelligent enough?

#41755 05/19/04 12:26 PM
Learning Strategies Admin