Posted By: ashvin004 alex ! how to speed read for test - 08/21/04 10:43 PM
hai,
i read this forum and its been a pleasure .i am a med student about to take a test in 40 days and in need of some good advice .
i practice to reduce my subvocalization ,use pacers my computer pointer.
just to get an idea my test is 2days 8hrs each with 1hr break spread over like lifes more eternal moments of rescue to catch once breath.
so u can guess how need to prepare.i want some good ways to maintain my concentration for like 8 to 10 hr chunks of time with minimum breaks obviously for like 10 min to 15 per 60 min sittings
iam at 300wpm as my items on test are 48 for 60 mins were rougly i get 72 secounds per item to analyze and answer
with all these number blabla all i want is better ways to handle this load
all good advice welcome

For test taking strategies you start with Pauls advice Dana Posted it in 2001 here is the link. http://www.learningstrategies.com/forum/ubb/Forum8/HTML/000707.html

At the beginning of each test calculate how much time you have for each question and then reduce the time slightly so that in a 60 minute test you have 6 to 10 minutes to spare at the end to go back and answer any questions you had left. It also stops you from spending too long on challenging questions at the expense of 3 or 4 easier further on in the paper that you don't get to because you hooked too long on earlier questions.

For essays try to leave a little longer than 10 minutes at the end. So if you have 3 essay questions in 1 hour instead of spending 20 minutes on each spend only 15 minutes this leaves you 15 minutes to polish them by giving them the 5 minutes if necessary however if you've done it right you'll have extra time for the tricky one.