Posted By: mimih321 Problem with the Breathing - 12/30/10 06:58 AM
Hello,
I'm so happy to have found this forum. I love SF qigong, but am having trouble with the breathing. I have a perpetually stuffy nose and can't exhale through my nose.

Also, I've had a lot of anxiety about my breathing for most of my life, and finally relaxed about it through mindfulness meditation which is not trying to control it in any way and belly breathing. The breathing in SF seems the opposite of that, reverse breathing, all nose breathing, and matching the movements to the breath.

Can I still get benefit if I do the exercises focusing on the visualizations and staying relaxed and without worrying about the breathing? At least at this point? I'm very new at it. Even thinking about controlling the breath makes me anxious!
Thanks so much for any advice,
Mimi
Posted By: Singingserpent Re: Problem with the Breathing - 12/30/10 10:06 AM
Why does breathing make you so anxious? Sincerely, I feel that you should address this issue first before trying meditation that involves focus on breathing.
Posted By: remedios Re: Problem with the Breathing - 12/30/10 01:34 PM