Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#54881 06/21/06 07:37 AM
bdavis Offline OP
OP Offline

I am new to SFQ and have questions about the finger growing exercise. Basically, I can't get it to work.

Each of my fingers are the same size as on the other hand, so I chose the middle finger on my right hand and followed the instructions. But the finger stayed the same as the other one. Then it occurred to me that perhaps the fingers on both hands are lengthening. So taking a pen, I drew two lines on the end segments of my finger, 70 millimetres apart, and tried again. No luck. I then tried different fingers on both hands. Each time there was no visible difference in distance between the pen-lines.

Now it strikes me as odd that we are instructed to match up the crease lines where our hands meet our wrists. Wouldn't it make more sense to line up the creases where our fingers meet our hands? After all, this is a finger - not a hand - growing exercise. If you line up your wrists then even a slight tilt or curve in your hands will cause the fingers on one hand to appear longer than on the other. But this problem won't happen when you line up the creases at the base of your fingers.

Could it be that people with different length fingers unconsciously tilt their hands to the left or right, by an imperceptible amount, and thus make their fingers appear the same length?

So I would like to ask someone who has had success with this exercise, could they please repeat it but in the following way:
1. Use an ink pen to draw two lines in the center of the end segments (first and third) of a chosen finger
2. Measure the distance between these two lines, or mark it on paper
3. Do the exercise
4. Measure again
5. Tell me the difference between measurements in steps 2 and 4 (preferably in millimetres, or 1/32's of inch)