Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#59996 05/14/07 11:04 AM
OP Offline

I am new to photoreading and the challenge I need to overcome doesn't seem to be described in the book:

When I read the "traditional" way, what slows me down is not the physical act of reading, but the time spent thinking. When an interesting new concept comes along I take a little bit of time to consider it, toy with it, synthesize it with other things I know, then move on.

In many of the phases of photoreading (not the photoreading step itself), I am confronted with too many ideas too quickly and get overwhelmed. There's no time to think through each idea. The challenge is exacerbated by the number of books which can be photoread in a short time. All of a sudden I am getting ideas from 10 books covering different subjects in the time it used to take to go through one-- and I am, at this point, simply unable to process the information effectively.

How should I deal with this issue? How do I get the benefits of good thinking time (which has served me well over the years-- I was valedictorian at a prestigious university) and also effectively photoread?

Thanks!

ZippyCat #59997 05/14/07 01:14 PM

Photoread at a pace that is comfortable for you... there's no drive to suddenly replace 1 book with 10... try photoreading the books at a rate that suits you and gives you time to digest them.

matthat #59998 05/14/07 11:13 PM

Quote:

In many of the phases of photoreading (not the photoreading step itself), I am confronted with too many ideas too quickly and get overwhelmed. There's no time to think through each idea.

Why should you?
May be you don't need to think through each idea.
I read many times in the past you got good results by processing each idea.
That gives you self-confidence, makes you feel comfortable.
But if you're applying to learn photoreading, I think you want something more, or -at least- you think that you could give even more.
Well...get out your comfort area.