Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
OP Offline

I have a problem that I am not even sure I can articulate clearly. Here goes an attempt:

I have learned some other qigong methods. I was recently certified as a teacher in one of them.

Before I had even begun that school and those qigong methods, I had been doing SFQ for about 9 months very regularly (at least an hour a day, but quite often 2-3 hours a day, usually active/sitting 50/50).

The only reason I began with this other school, was the teacher is the mother of my wife's acupuncturist and is a quite well known, famous and accomplished qigong teacher. And it turns out she lives about a mile from my house in this little cow town I live in!

She advised me that it would be better to stop practicing SFQ until I had learned the first form she taught for at least a year or about 300 hours of practice, whichever came first.

To make a long story shorter, if not short, I learned two other forms/methods of qigong (she is certified as a teacher in 10 and has trained teachers in about 7. Her credentials and history are quite beyond question) from her and was eventually certified as a teacher in one of them, the simplest of the three I learned.

However, I did begin practicing SFQ again after about 6 months of learning with her (it was about 300 hours of practice at that point, including practicing every day with her, which I have done for about a year).

But though I have learned all this wonderful theory, knowledge and even some valuable qigong experience, I have never liked this school or any of the three forms I learned as much as I liked SFQ.

Before learning SFQ, I had almost 30 years practice and learning with Tai Chi Chuan (including pushing hands, slow and fast forms, weapons, fighting and applications) and a lot of healing qigong. I had also taken private lessons from a qigong/Tai Chi teacher in SF, CA for two years.