Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#63927 01/11/08 01:48 AM
OP Offline

I received an email from Master Lin today endorsing the purchase of a new book from Marci Shimoff called Happy For No Reason. It really struck me that there's a conflict of principles when I see an endorsement for an author of a Qigong series that instructs you to not seek material things for yourself who endorses the writings of someone who is a featured teacher of "The Secret" which encourages people to seek things for themselves, including material wealth.

I'll admit, I am new to the study of Qigong, but that sure struck me as something that doesn't seem in harmony with the message of the master. Someone please feel free to correct me, I'm listening and willing to learn.

Peace,
Jay

After the poverty and suffering that Master Lin lived through while living in China I hope he makes a lot of money. If he EARNS enough to spend more time devoted to teaching and spreading the power of Qigong then that is fine by me.

I haven't heard anywhere where SFQ teaches not to make a good living.

Without desire there is tranquility. And in this way all things would be at peace. -Lao Tzu

Hi Jay,

Ask yourself this: If it were not for SFQ being promoted the way it is, how many of us would have ever heard of it? In a recent New York Times article Master Lin recounted how only 5 people showed up for his first class. At that rate it would have taken decades to have accomplished what Master Lin and Learning Strategies have done in only a few years. The kind of spirituality you are looking for is a goal that we haven't achieved yet. We all still have to get on with our day to day lives, including Master Lin. Money, for the time being at least, is an essential part of living.

Learning Strategies
Learning Strategies

Aloha,

Check out Marci's book. "Happy for No Reason" is the same concept Chunyi talks about when discussing the difference between Happy and Joy.