Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#6086 05/30/03 12:57 AM
Fiona Offline OP
OP Offline

I just started using self-hypnosis and paraliminal tapes and am really enjoying them. My situation is this: I am 36 and have been a stay home mom for 6 1/2 years to a special needs child. Over the past year I have been looking around for a new vocation (I used to be a social worker) and have become interested in the medical field...particularly nursing. This involves quite intensive medical courses that require a good deal of brain power. My track record with school is dismal. I do have my BS in sociology...but I really struggled to get it. I know that I am bright enough for studies, I just lack discipline and I never "learned to learn". Details fly by me and I usually only get the big picture, not the important details. On a whim I signed up for an intensive (6 week, condensed) Human Anatomy course to see if I could do it. I just finished my second week and had my first test today. It was brutal but I did it and I think I did well.
I am specifically looking for suggestions on self discipline, goal setting, study skills, time management, self esteem...basically everything that would help a stay home mom get back into the real world. Any suggestions? I have just received a number of paraliminal tapes from this site, most of them to do with memory and anxiety. Do these tapes really work? I enjoy the relaxation I get with them and wonder if anyone has really improved their ability to learn using them. I will spend some time soon going through the archives for other's experiences but am short on time so was hoping for some posts here. Thanks.

#6087 05/30/03 07:05 AM

Hi Fiona!