Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
turbo Offline OP
OP Offline

I'm curious as to what that would do? I use to take both 3 times daily about a year ago due to depression. It worked great and I felt more alive than ever. But through time, I started feeling down again and started listening to paraliminals. A day later, I felt even more alive than when I took the 5htp and St John Wort which took two weeks to produce effects. I'm not an expert on serotonin and its functions. Can someone explain some of this to me?

Hi Turbo

St John's wort and 5HTP can cause serotonin syndrome when combined together - rather don't use them together, use one or the other. I recommend 5HTP, because it is a direct precursor of serotonin. Serotonin is a neurotransmitter, a substance released from one nerve cell (also called a neuron) toward another to form a connection between nerve cells. The purpose of a neurotransmitter like Serotonin is to cross the synaptic gap between nerve cells, continuing the message that was activated somewhere else in the brain in other nerve cells. This activation can have numerous causes. When you listen to a paraliminal, your thoughts and feelings activate nerve cells and one of the purposes of serotonin is to make sure the 'feel good' messages get across to other interconnected nerve cells. Creating more good feelings.

Your experience of the supplements only helping after two weeks, is thought to be caused by growth of nerve cells which takes a little time, about 2 or 3 weeks. But once it's going more growth of nerve cells continues. Creating nerve cells takes energy, the supplements provide some of that energy, the rest the body provides.