Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#71301 03/25/09 09:55 PM
OP Offline

For time constraints, what are the recommendations for a 30 minute spring forest qigong practice? Which movements,for how long,etc?

How bout even a 15 minute practice,if that's doable? I just wanna make sure I can fit in a qigong session no matter what my schedule is and was wondering how you do it.

I'm a beginner, and I definitely want spring forest qigong to be a part of my daily practice.

This may start sounding like a broken record, but...

It is still another case of "good, better, best". The BEST is actually about an hour and then do the entire set.

However, a 15 minute practice, would still be good. In general, for a shorter practice like this, it is usually BETTER to pick only one or at most two exercises. This allows one to get more into the "meditational" aspects of the exercise. As gallen and others have said here recently, SFQ (and really most qigong in general) is not so much about a "series of movements", as much as it is about the mind set, the intention, the visualization, the meditational quality. The movements are helpful and important, but not the most important part.

A half hour session is better than 15 minutes, and even there, one might to focus on not more than three exercises. One could do all 8 exercises, but they might feel a little rushed that way. I still think only one or two might be better for these shorter sets.

As to which ones to practice, that is a much more complicated answer, as every person is a unique individual and what is best for me, might not be best for you.

I think "best", is to master the entire set over an hour set for at least a few weeks, and then pick an exercise that you like or feels healing to you and focus on that. And that might change from day to day. Or you could set an intention to rotate through the entire set of 8 over a period of days, picking one exercise on one day and the next day doing a different one.