Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#71729 04/26/09 12:09 PM
Darb Offline OP
OP Offline

Hi fellow Photoreaders,

I am fairly new to PR. I am still studying the Home Study Course (it's an excellent coarse). Like most of us in the modern world I lead an extremely busy life. I own a business and employ 8 people in a very complex field (electronics servicing). I also have 3 young children. Between staff, kids, many clients and reps I'm lucky if I get 5 to 10mins in between "interruptions". My only "quiet" time is around 30mins before bed. I know this should be enough time for maybe 1 or 2 books, but my lifestyle has raised some questions I would like to run by experienced PRs.

How does one PR in busy or chaotic environments? Can it be done? If so, what is the process? Is anyone else in a similar scenario? How much PRing do you get done in a given week?

Thanks for your time.

It will take an upfront investment of 30-40 hours to master PR enough for the investment to turn around and save you time.

Once you know it; 5-10 minute sessions are just fine.

Maybe a long weekend? Can someone watch the family for a weekend?

Kind Regards!

Darb Offline OP
OP Offline

Hello Yukala

Thank you for your response. Do you think the initial investment needs to be done in one "hit" or is it possible to do this in blocks. The CD course I have tends to do it in blocks.

Slightly off the subject, I must admit, during the initial phases of study/training, I have mainly been reading the materials in the conventional mode. I find the whole thing is a bit "chicken and egg" at the start. I don't think it's a great idea to PR until you have a grasp on the process. I think to do so is to set yourself up for failure.

Blocks of time would work just fine, but I would keep to the vision of how it will make things easier after you master it.

I would also use another book to practice on and study PR the old way. It took me about 10 days to get it.