Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
ked Offline OP
OP Offline

Hi all --

I certainly realize the benefits of 5 minute breaks between activation passes, because when I don't take them I always get tired of the material and stop studying as long as I need to. I'm a law student, so I have to study for several hours at a day each day.

In my 2nd year of law school (which is less intense than the 1st), I'm finding trouble motivating myself to do all the reading. The first year was "easier" in one sense because you had no time to do anything but read. This year I have leisure time, but would like to get my work done efficiently so I can enjoy the leisure time w/o stressing.

I know the solution is to take more regular breaks during my activation passes so that I don't get bored (which leads to losing my motivation), but I'm having trouble finding things that I can do during the "break" which don't bore me.

***What do other people do for their 5-minute break when they have a lot of reading to do?

I know that this may sound like a strange question, but what I do in my free time or for fun does not involve any five-minute activities -- except for browsing the internet, which I find distracting and a waste of time.

Any advice/suggestions for what to do to clear the mind and be motivated to read/mind map for several hours? I don't find that walking around for five minutes does much good. I'm also limited to things I can do on campus (leaving the library every 20-30 minutes is inefficient and requires me to pack up my belongings).

(Note: I know that the photoreading system recommends no more than 4 hours of reading at a time, but I'm not ever doing that much because I break up studying with mindmapping, meals and attending classes -- achieving 3-4 hours straight of studying would be an accomplishment for me.)

go outside for fresh air

or making a tea or coffee or making smoothie of fruit

then come back carry on.

Learning Strategies Admin
Learning Strategies Admin