Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Learning Strategies Admin

First, your imagination is nice for an ego trip yet how is it practical? Where does one really apply the information from the maths book in life? How does one really use that skill. Therein lies a real purpose.

Getting a writers sense???? What does that mean? As a writer myself I usually write to impart information. If you just want to get a sense, which is similar to a concept of what the writer has to offer, look at the table of content and you're done.

A real purpose looks at how one can apply what they read considering we read to learn. And given how much information is published each year it makes sense to use ones time wisely. Taking too much time to get a concept or sense of what the author has to offer is a waste, consider it your first purpose when you look at a book. You're done with the preview. Once you have the sense / concept. Take it further. Is it worth spending more time with this author or is it better to find a book or author that matches what you need for your life?

Alex

another example to clarify the "sense", when writing an article in the english exam some students get A others get C , though as student, I feel the writing which got C if for more understood and interesting than that one which got an A. I need to understand how the examiners think, because even some teachers fail to unerstand them. and I think the PRing is the solution, let us work on this one, considering I have samples of other students writings with the examiners' comments on them in my exercise book. I am little confused about it , some subjects I take i only study with little care about using them in real life, biology for example, and the real purpose for learning is only to pass the end-year exam ....though i enjoy studying it sometimes.

I haven't PR that exercise book yet, so what about making it our sample ,I am confused about how my purpose should look like for the book.