Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
OP Offline

For a while I have been feeling like a failure. I mean maybe it could stem from the fact I am 33 and I have not had a career. Or have not succeeded in a career.

Just recently. I would apply for these jobs and not care if I get hired or not. The place were I work as a telemarketer, I do have the perk of free cable and High Speed internet access. Right now I only have a part time job. I used to have a lot more motivation when I was job hunting.

I guess it could stem from the fact that I thought about being in business for a long time but never got involved because of the time and money aspect. Or maybe I felt I could not do it.

Who knows. But I have not been feeling good lately.

sjaykum1

Hi sjaykum1

OK lets start again

[This message has been edited by Matrixman (edited April 01, 2004).]

OP Offline

sure Matrixman.

What do you want to do, Sjaykum1?

Are you familiar with anchoring?

One activity I like to do is to go through my life and remember the times I felt the best. I collect all the good memories, all the good feelings, and link them together. I cycle through them again and again, and I look at them for common themes.

If you do this with your successes, the times you faced challenges and won, or even the times you lost but survived it and learned ... you might find some themes, confidence, and motivation that will help you with your current problem.

You might also be pleased to know that it is becoming more and more common for people to move from job to job, not staying at any one in particular place of employment or even type of job. I believe the statistic is now 12 jobs per person per lifetime.