I was asked by another forum member about my experiences with Deep Trance Identification (DTI) and unconscious modeling in regards to martial arts training. I am not an expert on this topic and I don’t always get the results I want but I have studied it and have achieved excellent results at times.

After listening to the audiotape version of “Unlimited Power” by Anthony Robbins, my first exposure to NLP, I became interested in the skill of modeling since it can be used to learn any skill. The tapes really didn’t teach the skill though the book does cover it with a version of the New Behavior Generator, which is the first technique I’ll cover.

Several NLP books and audio programs teach the New Behavior Generator (NBG,) a technique that can be used for modeling, especially physical skills. People teach different versions and IMO it is best to try them out and figure out which one works the best for you. You can also use the Paraliminal “New Behavior Generator” side B as well as other Paraliminals for this technique. One thing I’ve found to be important is to make sure you use all representational systems. I used to only use the visual system and my martial arts instructors said that I looked like I imitated the grandmaster very well but I lacked the feeling. I did not know what they meant until I realized that I left out the kinesthetic system, something very important for physical skills.