Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
balmon Offline OP
OP Offline

Hi guys,

I am wondering about the photoreading step... I am still a beginner, and when I photoread, I concentrate on the blip page, and I find that my attention is often very focused on the middle of the centerfold. Does this mean that I will not be able to see the words to the edge of the page.

In other words, do I have to make an attempt to "expand my peripheral vision", or will focusing on a central spot on the page suffice.

Thanks for any advice

I prefer opening my field of vision and observing the outer edges (white space). This seems to put less stress on my eyes (no headaches) and I see the blip page without effort.

I believe that you want to relax your gaze to encompass both pages at the same time, allowing yourself to take in the edges and corners of the pages, the white spaces, and the text. The text will probably be a bit blurred at first. That's pretty normal, and is a function of where your plane of focus is (which will probably be out at infinity at first). Eventually, you might see both pages rather clearly (which is due to each eye focusing seperately and moving the two focal planes in from infinity to the page).

I have found that the Tangerine Technique is useful for expanding my gaze. When I place my awareness at the back spot on my head, my gaze seems to automatically open up.

When I PhotoRead I quickly get myself into state, then enter the PhotoFocus state. I make sure that I can see a good sized blip page.

During the actual PhotoReading process, I stare directly through the center of the book, but I also make a point of recognizing the four corners of the book with my peripheral vision while I'm PhotoReading.