Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Sidis Offline OP
OP Offline

and within the pages of this book is a brief outline of photoreading (from what I understand, anyways).

Let me give you a little background on myself before I get into my questions on the Photoreading technique:
I'm an 18 year old student who's always been far above average when it comes to natural ability, but an underachiever out of nothing more than apathy. Currently I can read at about 600-800 words per minute, and I've been able to do so since I was 11 or 12. Using mnemonics (link, loci, etc.) I can, with some effort (I haven't practiced very intently), effectively memorize material in about twice the time it takes me to read it at 600-800 wpm. All of that may sound great, sure - I should be somewhat satisfied - but I'm not. Ideally, I'd like to be able to flip through a book and recall it word for word (or at least, idea for idea).. or memorize an entire language within 24-48 hours (currently it would take about 10 hours using substitution, if you've ever read 'The Memory Book', to memorize the 1000-2000 'core' words of the language).. something Will Hunting(or William James Sidis, if you know who that is)-ish

My questions are basically this:
a) Is it possible to attain those goals using this system? I've read that the Guinness World Book of records claims that someone has read at approximately 75 pages per minute, but they lack any 'real' credentials as far as I'm concerned. Just as an example, Marilyn Vos Savant is recognized as the person with the highest IQ at 220ish. Strange, that score isn't recognized (IQ tests can't measure that high, period) by any of the authors of high-IQ tests (Hoeflin, Cooijman, etc.) and it's effectively off the scale. Anything beyond approximately 130 can't be tested accurately by any of the modern tests administered by psychiatrists, and this will be readily admitted by anyone who's in the field.