Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
AdamP Offline OP
OP Offline

Hi. I'm a college freshman about to finish the year and am getting ready for my sophomore research project. I'm in the honors program at my school and we are able (although some would rather not, so i guess we are required) to work individually with a professor over two trimesters (20 weeks) on any topic in any subject that we choose, preferably outside of our major. I can get as much money as I need if I can convince the board to give it to me. As there are no requirements for this, I am free to do it in any way that I feel is best (as long as my advisor is ok with it).

I was first introduced to the realities of reading beyond the level taught in elementary school when my mother purchased the evelyn wood speed reading book on tapes in my junior year of high school which I listened to and without devoting time just to practicing drills (i only read required material and some books that I had been interested in) I was able to read 1500wpm which was great for me because it meant that I could do a weeks worth of reading for history in a night. Since that time I have not read a single book using the old method. I got the photoreading book at the end of my senior year and the home learning course in the beginning of my freshman year here. I found the tapes a lot nicer as I could close my eyes and relax as instructed without having to open them to see what to do next.