Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline

Dear Avid PhotoReaders!

I am a medical student in Australia and in a fit of desperation bought the PR Whole Mind System last year and had it shipped over to me.

Forgive the blaspheme - but I haven't had much success so far!!!

Confessions:
No, I haven't stuck to it very well.
No, I haven't practiced very much.
No, I haven't ever completed all of the steps for even a single book.

Truth is, I found that it was all still too time-consuming - esp. the mind-mapping stages. So I regressed back to the cave-man-style of normal reading. True, I wasn't remembering too much of it, but atleast I was getting through the material quicker and so FELT better on the surface!

I feel that the rule of "all the important stuff is said within 10-20% of the words" doesn't quite work with medical literature - usually every sentence has a new fact/detail and so can't afford to be skipped.

So here I am seeking help/advice/strategies/encouragement etc.

Waiting in hope,
Prynceska

If I were you I'd photoread, postview, and then do one pass with superreading and dipping. That shouldn't add too much time, and then you can cave-man read the rest.

Those three things that you haven't done already can mess you up big time. Try using all five steps. It might seem slow at first, but after doing step 4, use mindmapping and then try step 5.

Youngprer I must disagree. She said it was too time-consuming. To me that means it was too time-consuming, whether you took it that way or not.

Administrator
Administrator

Since the photoreading stage would be perhaps 6 to 12 minutes depending on how thick the book or how many chapters you choose to cover I'd be inclind to make sure I do that with whatever text I study. And I agree with astrowill do at least one activation step of superreading and dipping.

It's interesting that you refer to the alternative method as 'cave man' though.