Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
OP Offline

currently i am studying a topic in religion called, influences of religion in Australia and we had to study something called New Age Religion.

By its description it seems as though photoreading and other mind techniques are part of this new age religion definition.

I was wondering aren't these mind techniques proven to work? or are they beliefs?.

I am christian and i think photoreading works and these mind techniques should not be put under the heading of religon. I'm christian and try to incorporate these techniques into my life, that doesnt make me part of a different religion too does it?
. I view it as just something to help me with work.

I attended a Photoreading class years ago and have recently started using it again. I have also trained in NLP to the master practitioner level and was certified in hypnotherapy. I am also a Christian.

Now, there are Christians who would think I'm a New Ager (and I don't let them know I study NLP), but IMO it is because they do not understand NLP. NLP is the study of how the mind works. Rapport, anchoring, language patterns, etc are all used by people naturally. In NLP we just learn to use it consciously. There is nothing spiritual or religious about this IMO.

During my training I've trained with different people, including Christians and New Agers. It is true that New Agers may be more likely to be interested in these skills, but that does not mean they are New Age or religious. I've even had classmates who thought both Christians and New Agers were wierd. I also used to know some New Agers who were friendly enough until they learned I knew NLP and the got very paranoid and thought I was part of a mind control conspiracy to take over the world.