Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#36464 04/29/03 11:19 PM
eryk Offline OP
OP Offline

Does the size of the blip page effect anything? If it's a big blip, I wonder if my eyes/mind can see and read all of both pages. I'm new at this, and I'm wondering if I'm just photoreading a cubist collage. Oh well, cheaper than buying a Picasso.

#36465 05/01/03 01:14 AM
Administrator
Administrator

As long as you're comfortable with it any size is fine. Most find that it settles to a width between 1 to 2 inches. If you can notice the outer edges of the book while photoreading then yes your getting both pages

Alex

#36466 05/13/03 04:29 PM
eryk Offline OP
OP Offline

Beginner here. Let me run the risk of sounding very stupid.

What I mean is, when I photoread, the text overlaps itself. The printed matter is scrambled. Is there some kind of difference between "conscious vision" and what the unconscious mind sees, or does the unconscious see the same collage? If I'm just photoreading a word salad, am I doing it wrong?

#36467 05/14/03 05:17 AM

Word Salad.

Your brain always sees a word salad. However, your brain has learned how to represent the 3 dimensional world when you use your normal hard focus. Now when you diverge your eyes the concious mind still uses the old program for interpreting the input from the eyes and you have your blip page or word salad. However, the nice thing is that your conscious mind hasn't developed a traditional reading strategy for reading the word salad, so the information can go unfiltered to the other than conscious mind.

The Short answer is No, you are doing it properly.

Do you really get more than a couple of inches of overlap?

#36468 05/13/03 06:59 PM
eryk Offline OP
OP Offline

I guess I'm overly fascinated with what the text looks like during photofocus. Sometimes, I've stopped flipping and just "looked around" the page, without reading.