Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
kc73 Offline OP
OP Offline

Hi everyone,
I'm new to PhotoReading and have a question about the processes of preparing and activating. In an earlier post, Pete made these comments:

"But, more importantly, you must have a purpose. Otherwise, why read a book? You need to know why you are reading the book. What do you hope to gain from it? What do you want to accomplish as a result of learning the information in the book? Are you looking for specific pieces of information?"

What if the only reason you are reading the book is because the topic interested you and you picked it up from the shelf in the bookstore because it sounded interesting? What if your only desired result is "to read something that may potentially be interesting"? I often pick up books covering the topics of consciousness, the mind, spirituality, philosophy, etc., simply because I find those areas of study intriguing. I don't read each book with specific questions in mind, I read the books because I enjoy reading and learning new things about various topics. If I were to answer Pete's questions listed above in regard to the book I'm currently reading ("No Boundary" by Ken Wilber), it would appear something like this:

Pete's comments: "But, more importantly, you must have a purpose. Otherwise, why read a book? You need to know why you are reading the book."

My response would be: I'm reading the book because I've always enjoyed reading and because the topic is of general interest to me. My purpose is simply to be exposed to new ideas.

Pete's comments: "What do you hope to gain from it?"

My response would be: I have no idea, that's why I'm reading the book in the first place. At this point, the only thing I hope to gain is to be presented with new ideas that haven't already been rehashed by dozens of contemporary philosophers.

Pete's comments: "What do you want to accomplish as a result of learning the information in the book?