Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
OP Offline

In case you don't know me, I am a 10th grade high school student in Florida.

I have taught myself to PhotoRead from the book, but am still learning some of the intricacies, and especially how I can best integrate them into my life. Being a student, I naturally wanted to PhotoRead at least partially for absorbing material in a deeper, easier, quicker way for school.

Beginning to integrate PhotoReading into my homework reading routine has brought up a few questions I have, however.

1) Like most schools, we never get an assignment to simply have read an entire book by a certain date. Every night in English or AP American we get an assignment such as read the next three chapters, or read the next ten pages in your text book. This sort of contradicts some of the PhotoReading philosophy, it seems to me, and makes me unsure of whether to try to activate the whole book (or textbook chapter) or where to simply PhotoRead and then Rapid Read the pages assigned. Believe it or not, however, I tend to feel more comfortable with Superreading/dipping instead of Rapid Reading because it's different enough from regular reading that I can keep the flow and not worry about having consciously missed sequential meaning. SR/Dipping with focused questions seems to help me get information faster, and then I don't feel as much need to subvocalize as often, either.