Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
OP Offline

Hello all,

I ordered the PRWMS a couple of months ago and got started immediately when I got it. Then I ran into some problems having to translate the English material to Dutch while learning to PR and having to PR a english book/dictionary etc. It makes me kinda worried that I won't even get the general picture because there are a lot of words in english that I don't know. Trying to PR the supplied dictionary didn't realy help.

Also I see comments all over the place to learn PRing with non-fiction books. Well...I have a $h!tload of non-fiction Dutch books, sadly they are so technical that if I would have to formulate a goal it would be something like: I would like to know EVERYTHING in this book that I don't already know in order to learn <a new skill> (programming for instance)
Problem there is that I have no previous experience with programming, so I could never track my progress untill I would write a program out of the blue sky...which I think is whisfull thinking. So actualy I have no non-fiction books that I would feel comfortable with PRing.
MS Press books don't realy encourage me either... 900+ pages of technical info isn't playing to me

So I was wondering the following (forgive me for the extreme long intro, felt I had to give an idea of the situation I'm in)

What if I took a book, fiction, that I had read a couple of times before a long time ago, so I generally know what's in there, and then PR that. I could come up with questions because I already know the headlines of the book... read it before, might feel more at ease with it because nothing is at stake.

This would most deffinately make me feel more at ease, because I would not HAVE to learn antyhing, I'm just playing with it.

Could this be a good way to get familliar with the different techniques ? Or would it frustrate the learning process ?

Oh...what IS the actual reason to PR non-fiction books ?

Any comments are most welcome,

Regards,