Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
OP Offline

It has been said that to have PR skills like Pete Bisonette's, you should PR 3-10 books a week and activate 1-2 a week, for 3 months. Is there a substitute for the activate part? I'm a college student with a hectic schedule (even my weekends are filled up) and the kind of materials I read are of the technical type like textbooks and journals. With such kind of materials, I find it impossible to activate or gel 1 of them a week. My goal in activating is to acquire the comprehension level of knowledge or expertise, as written in the PRWMS book. Is it acceptable to substitue an equivalent amount of material, say, activate 15 chapters from different textbooks in one week? Or does activating mean acquiring even the lowest level of comprehension (awareness)? Thanks.

Learning Strategies Admin

So activate one of those all important college books every week. What about course material? Don't you plan to activate that? Seems to me as a student you're half ways there by default.

Alex

OP Offline

You mean I'm going to focus on one book only per week? If I'm going to activate one of my books in a one week period, it'll take all of my studying time. If that single book takes all of my time, I can't read the other required readings. The lectures of the profs sometimes can't be understood unless you red the book. And tests are given almost everyday in some of my subjects. So I prefer to activate my books gradually.

Treat chapters of a textbooks as a book each.

If you know how to use the PhotoReading system you'll be applying the 5 day test approach to your books, textbooks and reading material anyway. If you're spending 30 minutes a day on activation you're well on your way to activating a book per week.

If you're already activating your study material what are you worried about activating for? You're already doing it.

Alex

OP Offline