Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#47530 05/26/01 04:13 PM
Claire Offline OP
OP Offline

So I have been doing Qigong and while I find it relaxing I still have my doubts if it works. I really like Master Lin but wonder if you don't have to do the course with him as opposed to a video for it to be effective. I have not seen many post about it working for people who have learned it at home. Could people please post what positive benefits they have received from doing Qigong and if they have been healed of any physical problems. It sure would do wonders to motivate the rest of us--

#47531 05/27/01 02:43 PM

Claire,
I have been practicing various styles of qigong for several years. Different styles resonate for different people. It so happens, that Spring Forest Qigong has really resonated for me. As I have the benefit of living in Minnesota, I have been able to take the courses directly from Master Lin. There is an advantage to this, "but", the actual work happens on your own, day by day, doing the exercise and meditation. My profession puts alot of stress on my neck and shoulders. Last year I experienced alot of pain in that area as a result of working long hours. I was practicing some very good forms of qigong, but still having a problem in that area. About a month after committing to Spring Forest Qigong, and focusing on the active exercises, my neck and shoulder pain left. It is no longer a problem. I still do work that stresses that part of my body, but I can literally fix it the same day, with a session of exercise. I also find my posture is changing, and awareness of that, so I cause less stress while I work. I think the time you spend doing it makes a big difference. The difference between 30 minutes a day and two hours a day is great, as far as results go. I suggest as much as a commitment as possible. Pick a reasonable time period, say four to six months. Dive in , commit to it( or perhaps surrender to it, in a more relaxed sense), and see where you ar