Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#51175 09/19/04 07:52 PM
OP Offline

Hello,

I am very new to Qigong but have been following the exercises (and discussions on this forum)with much interest.

I would like to ask the group a question, if I may...
Can anyone tell me how a person gets from the point of being a skeptic (that this "energy" actually *is real and will do what the material says it does) to the belief that it has a physical effect on one's own body -- or that one can help others who are in pain, via proxy, so to speak?

In other words, how do I know that all this is not just another sham? How does a person become convinced that Qigong is not merely wishful thinking?

Please don't think I'm putting anyone down because of this question; that's not my intention at all.

Will appreciate any thoughts or responses you have to my question -- even if I have to put on a flame suit to read them.

Thanks,
Lynn-Marie

#51176 09/20/04 12:47 AM

Well person I've met, but say it happened for them when a heart condition they'd had for decades was healed and doctors could find not sign of it. Another might say they believed it was real after their cancer dimished then was gone.

Some are convinced by the sword fingers and growing finger demonstrations.

A part of me would still say, well that's just the power of the mind..... and what's wrong with that, but does that mean there really is a qi?

Well for me, I was sitting in the audience while Master Lin worked on a group of people on stage. I had wanted to go up there and experience his energy, but well there was a stampede and I had no real illness. So I just sat quietly in the audience, close to the stage.