Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Bluesky Offline OP
OP Offline

Hi,

I have been practising the level 1 exercises and meditations for a few months and I am impressed by how quickly I can shift my energy state. I would like to show my brother the exercises but I was wondering how Master Lin views mixing SFQ with Buddhist meditation techiques - my brother has been a Buddhist for many years.

The video and manual say one should avoid mixing SFQ with other energy techniques - is this refering to other Qigong techinques or does it apply to other meditation practises.

I quess I would also like clarification on this issue as I enjoy going on meditation retreats a couple of times a year in the UK and as most of them are passive sitting types so I do like to practise qigong to keep a better balance.

I have done a search on this forum on this issue and I seem to found posts which either say wait 30 minutes after SFQ exercises or some that say its better not to mix techinques. In my own experience I have found qigong to enhance and deepen the retreat experience and I see them as complimentary systems.

If anyone has heard Master Lin expand on this point on working with other energy techinques/meditations I would really appreciate some clarification.

Thank you,

Bluesky

Hello Bluesky;

I think you have already answered your question with the thirty minute wait after SFQ Exercises or Meditation.

Master Lin did mention, at the last Retreat, that he found inspiration in reading the Heart Sutra on a regular basis but he also mentioned reading from Taoism for the same reason.

He is truely flexible in advising people on what they can and cannot do. Most of what he says seems to be in the form of a request. He gives guidlelines to follow which I think are pretty loose for something as beautiful as Spring Forest Qigong.