Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#53216 02/13/06 09:45 PM
OP Offline

I am new to SFQ and am having a tough time trying to relax during the exercises. The reason I decided to start SFQ was I thought it would help overcome a tightening or constriction of my face. This happens when I try watching TV, reading, driving or just relaxing. As long as I keep my mind active as in singing, talking or something physical it's all right but the minute I stop the tighening begins. Trying to do the exercises is almost excruciating as my face won't relax enough to let me follow along with the lesson. Even trying deep beathing can be difficult. So I must talk constantly which seems contradictory. Sounds crazy I know but does anyone have any ideas?

Also is there anyone from the Vancouver BC area that might be interested in starting a group get together.

#53217 02/13/06 11:16 PM

My best advice is to just do the exersizes(and meditation). Have faith that they will fix whatever needs fixing and be patient. It is easy to over think this stuff, particularly for us "westerners". Just do what you can and in time you will feel better.

RodB

#53218 02/14/06 02:56 AM

I'm not diagnosing here, but have you considered glasses? I'm at that age where I may soon have to get them or longer arms. I find that my face tightens very much during the same sort of activities as you've described. Just and idea.

However, when it comes to meditations, I have the opposite reaction. Once I close my eyes and start relaxing into a meditation my face begins to relax. Even before I start the meditation, my face starts relaxing. It continues to relax; almost in steps sometimes. Big reductions then relax and then some more. Instead a slower releasing action.

I can direct the relaxation with my thoughts. "Speaking in my mind" as Master Lin might say. I always find it helpful to synchronize the Relax thought with an exhale.