Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#53615 04/21/06 11:17 AM
OP Offline

IS THE TONGUE PLACED BEHIND THE TOP TEETH OR IS THE TONGUE PLACED RIGHT BACK AT THE PALATE
IS IT JUST THE TIP OF THE TONGUE OR THE FLAT OF THE TONGUE CAN ANYONE ENLIGHTEN ME AS I AM NEW TO THIS THANKYOU

#53616 04/21/06 03:27 PM

Hi Li,
The tongue is placed on the roof of the mouth where you feel most comfortable.
I personally find that if you say the letter L
the tongue ends up with the tip just above the top front teeth. You can still breathe and swallow and also let the rest of your tongue rise up to the roof of the mouth when resting. Hope this helps.
Love and light
Faune

#53617 04/22/06 05:54 AM

I asked this same question two hours after this thread was begun (did not look to see if there were any new threads ).

And I like faune's answer: sounds good and may be the best answer.

Still, I would like to offer my questions here from the thread I just started to see if there are any other "good, better, best" possibilities from the ancient wisdom of Qigong as channeled through our teacher Chunyi Lin or any senior students:

quote:
I have heard and used a few different alternatives for where the tongue goes while practicing Qigong. I even had a recent teacher who argued for the tongue going behind the teeth on the bottom of the mouth since he (he argued) that Qi is an electric energy and since water conducts electricity, it is actually better (or at least as good) to put it behind the bottom teeth.

Having said that, I usually put the tongue behind the upper teeth, just touching the flesh on the hard palate. But I have also heard that it is better to curl the tongue and have it touch further back on the hard palate.

And there is also the possibility (though awkward) to have the tongue touch the soft palette even further back towards the throat, touching that little indentation that points almost directly straight up towards the top of the head.