Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
OP Offline

I have been practicing SFQ an average of an hour a day for three months hoping to alleviate longtime depression, anxiety, and PTSD. I started this regular practice after reading about the study that was done showing that SFQ improved symptoms of depression in a test group. So far, I have not noticed any positive change in these conditions or any movement of energy or indication that anything positive is happening when I practice. The forms don't feel natural and relaxing to me as some other qigong forms have, and have often brought up feelings of frustration and stress. 3 months seems like a fair trial (the study group did 2 months). Any thoughts or suggestions?

IMHO 'wellness' is best brought about through a multi-pronged approach focusing on health and wholeness. I feel best when I watch what I eat, get the proper amount of sleep at night, engage in some physical activity or exercise as well as allowing some down-time (physical, mental and emotional rest) during the day.

I think of it as a balanced lifestyle.

It also helps me to get out of myself - focus some of my energy on doing for others. If I get locked up in my own head too much I find that I'm in bad company. I have a tendency to brood and dwell on negatives too often and sometimes this turns into a self-reinforcing feedback loop; the worse I feel the more I brood which makes me feel worse and so I brood more and so on.

When that happens I stop whatever I'm doing and go take a walk or a motorcycle ride or spend some time trying to do a good turn for someone else. Or I pray.

I also do Reiki on myself at least once or twice a day. Finally, SFQ exercises are helpful to me in keeping things open and balanced. But again, I see it as just one tool in my toolbox. There are lots of other tools in there, and I have to use them all.

It's like building a birdhouse or something. If all I had was a hammer, I couldn't do a very good job.