Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
JVV Offline OP
OP Offline

Hi guys I am new in the forum, but have started practicing Photoreading for a couple days now. I have read the Photoreading book, but I have a question about the steps. I guess it would be better to give you a little background: I am a medical intern, reading you guess it...medical books. I am photoreading them by chapter, doing all the steps.

After I am done with the Photoreading step, it is said to wait 24 hrs to activate (I am doing this by superreading and dipping) and lastly to speed read it. Here are my questions:

1- Can I switch the steps maybe speed read before the activation step (superreading and dipping)

2-How many times should I repeat the Photoreading steps for a chapter, do I start from step 1 (preparation) or should I repeat these steps at all? What I was doing was doing all the steps up to the Photoreading the doing the speed reading twice per chapter and superreading and dipping also twice per chapter.

Any thoughts or comments to improve on this,
thank you

1) Super reading and dipping is more of an intuitive type thing that you can do when you want to get only certain information from a book to your conscious mind. If you do it in layers you can build comprehension.
The "speed reading" or "rapid reading" part is what you'd typically do with novels. It starts at the beginning of the book and goes to the end. You could be reading word for word, super reading, dipping, rhythmically perusing, skittering or goign through the pages at photoreading rate depending upon what part of the book you're in, and how familiar you are with that part of the book, and how much you want or need from that part of the book.
2)Always prepare, doesn't take that long and quite frankly we should do the Prepare step before we do ANYthing, i.e.; driving, reading, sleeping, playing a sport or instrument, etc.