OK I just need to clarify something:

Is it appropriate for people who do SFQ to also do other qigong programs?

I keep hearing people say "do SFQ for a couple of years to get a background in qigong...then experiment with other styles."

Here are my issues:
1. I am not a beginner in qigong, I have studied qigong with other teachers in-person and I have done other qigong learning by correspondence. I've been in qigong since 97 - that's when I started under Mantak Chia and I met him in person and also worked with Healing Tao Boston on many occasions.

2. I do 5 other qigongs: 3 are martial( chinese ) qigong systems, 1 is the liangong method, and the other is martial & general energy cultivation( nei kung from indonesia but based in qigong & pranayama from india ). The 3 strictly martial qigong systems are through 1 individual - a chinese martial arts sifu. I learned liangong through books & DVDs. The indonesian nei-kung system is through someone else who trains me by correspondence. I do not currently do any qigong under Mantak Chia's organization.

The way I think is that SFQ is really the only medical qigong I do. But IMO medical qigong is simply not all of qigong.

Liangong could be termed medical but it's very basic and it does not involve or lead to the ability to heal through chi projection. It's a set of joint & body loosening exercises and after you finish them you learn Yi qigong which is a short set. I'm learning that now and again it's for stilling the mind, not for healing. I would say Liangong is my favorite since it really opens up the channels. According to the liangong organization you can do any other qigong immediately afterward and it's not a problem.

The 3 martial qigongs are done one after another as my sifu says all you need is a 5 minute break between the sets - they all use reverse breathing. One of the sets is a closed-door chinese martial qigong and my sifu is generally knowledgable - IMO he knows what he is talking about.