This really has been a question for me for some time now. I have been on this forum for some time (and user of paraliminals) and have for a long time been a believer of the cogitive perspective of well beeing and change. Change your beliefs and change yourself. I was always the paraliminal-user who wanted all change by the tapes (now paraliminal cds) alone and nothing from me. I was afraid of a lot of things and some fears I keep still.

Anyway... Thanks to the paraliminals, in some amount (conscious creating is always the weapon of choice... ), I'm now studying to become a psychologist. In Sweden it's one of the most sough after educations and hardest to get. My grades were so so but my intent was 100%.

Now I find myself in quite a rift between my experience with the paraliminals on the one hand and the discoveries of hard science. Cognitive therapy (not NLP or the derrivative products from LSC) is implied to have no greater value than using only behavior experiments. In studies with depressed patients getting cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) and also only behavior therapy and waiting-list, the best results we're for behavior therapy (BT). What BT equates is trying to do the things you don't want (be social and try it even though you have a social fobia) and get exposure to it.

So the results have had some effect already. Behavior therapy which was dead is revived, certainly with the aid of some new BTs like Acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) and Dialectic behavior therapy (DBT). The cognitive sciences which was supposed to let us know that the mind works like a computer has had extremely little relevance for therapy. LSC isn't doing therapy but is still dependent on the notion that change is an affair of beliefs.