quote:
Originally posted by dolson1018:
Believe me I'm no expert, and you may be half right in my opinion. We probably are not born with this self talk problem that we all experience, but we have this innate ability to store all negative feeling that we have had thrown our way sense man and women first started thinking.

Guess what? I don't think so either . Back in 2002, when I took the Sedona Method and before taking it, I used to believe that same thing. After taking Sedona, I believe that babies as well as very little children don't repress their emotions; they most likely release them. The Sedona Method claims to be the natural ability to release our emotions just like babies and very little children do. I have seen this many times from then. I have six nephews, one of them are under the first two years. I can see how he gets mad for something, he gets silent for a few minutes and then he come happily after, as if nothing had happened. Not so for adults. When an adult get mad for something, he/she dwells much longer on it and afterwards, that emotion continues haunting him/her for longer. I myself had an experience while one of my Holosync meditations in which I vividly recalled a very early moment in my childhood. One of the pieces of information I got was how I used to manage my emotions by then; I remembered that I didn't struggle with them. I believe that the habit of repressing our emotions is learnt as well. From early in our lives, our parents teach us to repress our emotions; when a parent gets mad at a crying child, he/she usually says to him/her: "sit down and be quiet", and maybe spank him/her for crying. The attitudes of the bulk of the people tells us to not show some emotions too. I believe that the whole environment in which we live teaches us to repress, not that we are born with it.

quote:
The other thing that you brought up: That voice can be taught to talk positively.