Thank you all for your replies. I have started with Positive Relationships Session A. I listen to it once a day then I do the sleep listening while I am ready to fall asleep. So far no success. If anything, I am getting a cold shoulder at work from her while we collaborate. It could be due to something else happening in her life. It could be that she is afraid of a change.

I have no problem with my own potential and self-worth. After all I am doing well professionally and I am highly educated in my field (NB I am a scientist in a non-biological field) I know that in many ways I can be a very good catch for any woman. On the other side, being in my early 50's, the type of woman suitable for my age is mostly loaded with emotional baggage and, most likely, parental committments (NB you never stop to be a parent, if you really like to be a good one). I have no kids of my own, so I am not interested in acquiring some through a relationship leading to a marriage. I do like kids alot, but I am not willing to go through the exercise of having to form other deep relationships with close family members of a potential partner.

I am not interest in changing my potential partner, apart from the fact of moving into a relationship since I find a friendship with her awkward. She has played mind games to keep me into the friendship which suits her because she is so badly hurt from her past that she is terrorised by another form of committment, even if mild (like boyfriend/girlfriend with no live-in situation). I do not enjoy her company when I know that I am being manipulated into a form of selfish and unhealthy sort of social interaction.